Uncategorized

Happy New Year

Welcome to 2009.

This was our view as the year rolled in. Hong Kong lit up with fireworks. The big tower with all the fireworks coming off it is IFC Two. It’s over 100 stories tall, and has a huge shopping mall underneath. Some of you may recognise it from movies such as ‘The Dark Knight’… There is a shorter tower to the left… IFC One… that is (now) where Titus spends most of his working hours. 

It wasn’t as impressive as the coathanger…. but then… not much is. It was however, a nice, simple start to an uncertain new year. 

If you had told me this time last year I would be living in Hong Kong, I would have laughed at you. If you’d told me Bethany was 1/2 way through her first school year and loving it, I would have rolled my eyes at you, and if you had told me a global financial recession was going to be taking place I would have told you to ‘stop pulling my leg’. And yet… here we are. 

Hong Kong has been a lot harder than I expected it to be. I’ve felt extremely isolated and alone at times. I’ve wanted to go home to the safety of my house, my garden, and our life back in Australia when things have gotten too hard. I knew life here would be a change, and that it wouldn’t be easy, but I didn’t realise it would be that hard. I’ve felt like a bird with it’s wings clipped. Life here, getting out here, even doing a simple grocery shop here, is a challenge. 

In 2009, if we are destined to stay here, I hope that will change. For one, we’re going to look for a live-in nanny/helper. I didn’t think living in an apartment would be more difficult than having a house with a big yard. I’ve been proven wrong. It is a huge chore, along with everything else, and the attention of the kids. I have days fly by me and I just can’t keep up. Live-in helpers are inexpensive here, common-place, and a fixture of Hong Kong lifestyle. So, we’re going to bite the bullet and see where it takes us. 

The recession that is gripping the planet at the moment has come at the worst time for a lot of people. Jobs have been lost. There isn’t much work out there for those without jobs to go for. Those with jobs, still face ongoing uncertainty. Where does that leave us? I honestly can’t tell you at this point, but we’re afloat (for now), and trying our best to make the most of the experience currently in front of us. I am blessed with Superman for a husband, and 2 amazing (if not often frustrating) children. They are the most important things in my life. They ARE my life. They are what I want to live for this year. My friends are spread far across this vast planet. You all know who you are. Thank you for being there for me. Thank you for giving me strength, a kind word, a strong shoulder, a friendly ear, a good laugh. I love youse guys. 😉

I’ll leave the final thought with Mitchell, who spent the entire evening partying like it WAS 2009, dancing the night away…

“WHASSSUUUUUUUUP”

Leave a Reply

