Bethany / Chocolate / cooking / Disneyland / Mitchell

Baking in the New Year…

It has been a quiet time for us. Bethany is back at school and loving it. Titus is working, and Mitchell and I are settling into the colder weather. It is sunny blue skies (with the ever present hint of smog) and cool.. down to 10 degrees outside now, and less when a wind blows. 

We went back to Disneyland for our first visit of the year last weekend. They didn’t have the chinese new year displays up yet unfortunately, but it was a nice day and crowds were non existent which made the day even more enjoyable. 

Mitchell was very excited. Meeting these characters is his favorite activity in the park. He was also quite spoilt when Goofy decided to walk around the Fantasy Gardens with him. 

Aside from the side visit to Disneyland, I’ve been in the mood for baking. Fresh bread every second day, muffins, cookies, and todays latest indulgence:

Chocolate chip cookie dough chocolate brownie. This little gem of a super simple recipe came from Bakerella. Sooo easy to make it wasn’t funny. I only made one change, and that was to put a solid milk chocolate icing on the top instead of a ganache. This brownie is truly evil, and absolutely divine. Bethany taste tested as soon as the icing had set and gave it a very chocolate covered smile and two thumbs up, so I figure it is a hit with my kids too! I’ll be making this one again for sure. YUUUUUMMMMMY!

2 thoughts on “Baking in the New Year…

  1. Hey, you go to Disney more than I do! I’m starting to get jealous. 😉 How fun and special that Goofy walked around with Mitchell! He must have loved that. Isn’t it nice when the crowds are low and you feel almost that you have the park to yourself?

    The brownie looks yummy! I may have to try that out some time. 😉

  2. Never show a picture of brownies to a pregnant woman. I about licked the screen.
    I think I will be buying the ingredients when I go to the grocery store tomorrow.

    And the Disney pics are adorable. It’s so awesome that you guys get to go so often!

Leave a Reply

