cooking

Pizza Baby!!

We don’t eat pizza a lot. We rarely if ever buy it take-away/delivery and if we do have it for dinner I normally make it (base included) from scratch so I am always on the lookout for interesting pizza toppings and recipes, and came across the brillaint Pioneer Woman doing this. I loved the idea, but not the Prosciutto so I decided to adapt the recipe a bit and came up with this instead.

I replaced the Prosciutto with New Zealand smoked salmon and added baby spinach leaves.

I also used my own pizza dough recipe which is tried and tested on the family.

Aside from that I followed the rest of PW’s recipe as it was.

It came out of the oven looking like this:

It tasted divine and the salmon was salty enough to be a great contrast for the sweetness of the caramalised onions. The base wasn’t oily or wet thanks to how the cheese was laid out. The kids enjoyed it, I enjoyed it and our helper enjoyed it.

One thing I love about PW is that her recipes are not only easy to follow, but also easy to adapt to suit the needs of our family. It is great to find a blog that has recipes on it that I want to cook or that I can say “yeah – I can make that and know my husband (the fussy one) will try it”.

Leave a Reply

