Art and Craft / Fun / Hong Kong / Recreation

Artjamming

I’d never heard of it until a friend mentioned her kids had done it a month or two back. It sounded like a pretty neat concept. Two or so hours, a blank canvas, and paint – and the chance to do whatever your heart desires on the canvas.

When the chance came up to try for myself I couldn’t wait. A group of ladies I have been meeting decided to give it a go so I went along not entirely sure what to expect. The great thing was no one expected a masterpiece. It was all a lot of fun and chatting and relaxed enjoyment. I didn’t know what I was going to paint, aside from the fact I wanted it to be bright. To reflect the optimism I seem to always lack.

I’m not really happy with my end result – I wanted my colours to graduate our from the centre with more transition, but the time constrains and wet paint didn’t allow for it. But you know what? I had a blast. I had so much fun. I hadn’t laughed so much in ages.

I really want to do it again despite the terrible end result. It was a way to relax I’d never even considered before. While I don’t think I could ever be a painter, I got a brief glimpse of why many people do paint for relaxation and enjoyment. I loved the idea of the spontaneity that came with creating something on the canvas.

Thoroughly recommend it. A great social night out. Check out my friends masterpiece… I’d love to hang it on my wall!

One thought on “Artjamming

Leave a Reply

