Hong Kong / Lifestyle / Lisamaree / Titus

Three Years Ago…

We packed up our lives and jumped on a plane into the unknowns of living as an expat family in Asia.

Mitchell was all but a baby. Now, he’s about to start his second year in kindergarten – K2 – the same level Bethany entered the Hong Kong education system on… three years ago.

I don’t know if it is because I have kids or the simple fact I am just getting older, but time seems to be flying by. Blink and you miss a day. We’ve been through a few highs and several lows in our adventures here over the last three years. Hong Kong has been hard for me to adjust to in this time. The first year here especially was rough. It hasn’t been a financially rewarding adventure, but it has been a cultural experience we simply can’t buy. We’ve been to places we never thought we would go. We’ve been exposed to cultures and cultural celebrations we didn’t even know existed. We get to live in a unique city so different from what you would see in Australia or New Zealand (or almost anywhere else on the planet). And the adventure isn’t over yet.

Three years on I have been asked if I regret the decision to move here by a few people. If you had asked me that in the first year, I would have given you a resounding yes. Now, I have no regrets. Life is full of ups and downs, people come and go. I look at my kids and am proud of what they are experiencing – both the good and the bad of it.

How much longer? Who knows. I don’t think I could live here the rest of my life – I miss home – Sydney – too much. As much as I love Hong Kong (and the food… ooooh the food!), as much as I feel settled,  it isn’t home for me. Two years, 5 years, 10 years… who knows.

I have learnt one thing in the last few months though.

Life is never simple, but here, now, with my children and husband, life is good.

Leave a Reply

