Emotions / Lisamaree

Anti-Social Networking

Forgive me Facebook for I have sinned. It has been over two days since my last visit to you and truth be told, I have no desire to come back to you at all. In fact, if it wasn’t for a select couple of friends, I think I would have deleted your app from my phone and iPad already…

Over the last month or so my desire to be a part of the social networking craze has ebbed to a trickle. I haven’t posted status’s frequently, and I haven’t wanted to indulge in the trappings of Facebook at all. In fact, more often than not looking at Facebook brings bile up my throat. I don’t know what I saw in it.

Sure, it is great to see what my friends are up to in real time. I think that was part of the allure. Living away from my friends – especially those in Australia, New Zealand and the US – it helped me stay in touch and still be a part of what we have left behind. The reality is, Facebook is a huge time sink and truth be told, I just don’t have that much time. Add to that, most of what is posted  by primarily ‘acquaintances’ is utter trollop. There are only a select few friends on Facebook I genuinely WANT to see status’ from.

I have come to the realisation I don’t need to know what everyone else is up to in real time, and, if people want to know what I have been up to, they can either come here (albeit my punctuality is often lacking), find me elsewhere (and they know where), or they can email me. So I’m jumping off the Facebook wagon and the only time I will be headed back is when friends ask me to for a specific purpose.

So Say We All!

Leave a Reply

