Australia / Baking / Cake Decorating / native animals

An Aussie Cake …

I was asked to make a cake for charity and decided to pay homage to Australia.

Underneath it is a basic chocolate cake, with a filling and coating of ganache. I wasn’t entirely happy with the ganache mostly because I didn’t like the chocolate flavour. I have yet to find a chocolate in Hong Kong I like the flavour of in my baking.

The cake is coated in green fondant, with a yellow fondant border and chocolate fondant boomerangs.

The animals are all gumpaste and fondant; with the brown animals, wombat and kangaroo, made from gumpaste and chocolate fondant.

The animals are a sulphur-crested cockatoo, kangaroo, koala and wombat. I wasn’t aiming to make them look real as I am more into the cartoon-style crafting. I think most people easily recognised the animals and the kangaroo made an interesting talking point. All up, the animals took 3 or 4 hours to make.

The cake ended up being auctioned off, but I don’t know how much it raised. I was just happy to be involved, get some practice and bring a smile to peoples faces.

One thought on “An Aussie Cake …

Leave a Reply

