Malaysia / travel

Sunset

The view from the promenade in Kota Kinabalu was stunning and romantic. I feel blessed I got to share it with my husband. But of course, you don’t want to see pictures of me, so here is an unobstructed image …

My camera just can’t do it justice, so you’ll have to trust me that it was hot and humid and beautiful.

Across from the mainland was a large island. Peppered around its fringes were villages on stilts built over the water.

If you look closely at this village you will see they even have a mosque built towards the right in the photo (the gold dome sticks out). We didn’t get to go to one of these villages and see them first hand. It is on my list of things to do if we get the chance to come back. We saw many of these stilt villages over the water in our travels.

Even inland it appeared the locals had a strong respect for the water. Many of the houses were built on poles. I’m not sure if this is a cultural design or a practical design to counter flooding.

Another curious feature of the township of Kota Kinabalu was the construction of the buildings.

The majority of the buildings had no ‘corners’. I remember this being a design feature from St Petersburg so that during a war soldiers couldn’t hide behind corners and I can’t help but wonder if there is a similar logic behind the design here. Curiously the bottom floor predominantly used by restaurants take up the entire width of the building and have two street entrances on either side. I know most people wouldn’t notice the shape of a building in a city, but sometimes these little features are different and I find it fascinating.

Leave a Reply

