Seoul / South Korea / travel

Discrimination? or clever tourism?

Here’s something you don’t see every day (unless you live in Seoul I guess) …

This taxi will ONLY pick up foreigners. Locals can’t use it.

How strange is that?

I can only begin to imagine the uproar a taxi like this would invoke in a country like Hong Kong, or even more so in Australia.

From a tourist perspective I understand the concept and certainly would have taken advantage of it had we needed to.  I am curious what the locals think though. I also wonder how many of these taxis exist in Seoul and whether this “exclusive service” costs more than a regular taxi.

I can’t think of any other country I have been to with a taxi service dedicated to tourists. Are there other countries that do this?

Leave a Reply

