kid of the 80's / Transformers / TV shows

To Open … Or NOT to Open…

THAT is the question…

My darling husband gave me a belated birthday present in the form of a Year of the Horse 2014 30th Anniversary Generation 1 style Limited Edition Optimus Prime. My oh my is THAT a mouthful! Try saying it three times fast!

It comes with the battle axe and gun attachments for the hands as well as the Matrix of Leadership. *SWOOON* (poorly taken photos through the packaging at the bottom of this post for fellow TransformiNerds)

Mitchell, my Transformers obsessed sprog #deux thinks I should open it. The purist TransformiNerd in me says I should keep it unopened until we one day in the distant future move back to Oz and I can procure a display cabinet worthy of its AWESOMENESS!

What say you?

Battle Axe and Matrix of Leadership

Limited Edition 30th Anniversary Year of the Horse Optimus Prime

x

6 thoughts on “To Open … Or NOT to Open…

  1. I am too stunned by the Matrix of leadership to even venture an opinion. Fantastic gift, said the wood snake to the horse. (I am actually mentioning the wood snake thing at the start of my book.)

    • I know right! I find the Chinese New Year animals and the superstitions that surround them most fascinating. Particularly as I get to experience how people relate to the animals influences and horoscopes first hand here in Hong Kong.

  2. I’ve always believed that toys are to be opened from the box and played with. The Toy Story movies are gospel. Plus toys displayed in boxes look kinda lame. 🙂 That said I do have a Classics Inferno hanging out in his box, mainly because I have no place to display him. Also he’s apparently pricey now. Oh, the agony of toy collecting… 🙂

    • Thanks for commenting. 🙂 I agree with you and this is my dilemma. I’d love to see my kids playing with him, but I know that he is sold out over most of the planet and has already gone up in price almost 50% since my hubby got him for me… decisions, decisions!

  3. I’ve watched the Big Bang Theory so I know all about collecting toys and keeping them pristine. Actually, now that I think about it, I would buy first edition books, when they were affordable and I glad wrapped them to keep the dust off. Then I bought a copy that I could read. Nutty game this collecting business. 🙂

    • Thanks for reading. I think those of us who collect are all a little nutty. I have a similar habit with books. Now I get books on my Kindle, I sometimes get the physical book as well (especially those from favourite authors) but never open it. 😉

Leave a Reply

