Lisamaree / Writing

The Battle of One’s Inner Creativity…

One of my biggest problems with writing is the maelstrom of ideas and concepts floating around in my head.

I love to write yet getting that which distracts and flows through my mind out onto paper or the keyboard is always an ongoing struggle. Images and brainwaves fight each other to be heard or pop up at the most inconvenient of times often to be forgotten a few minutes later as they flutter away back into obscurity.

When I have the opportunity I try to catch them down briefly on paper or my smartphone, but more often than not that isn’t possible. The ideas just jumble around bouncing from corner to corner of my mind popping up when I least expect them. They blur what I am doing or cloud the focus I am writing about, distracting me, nipping at me, only to have me push them away or give up.

I’ll be writing one story and ideas or revelations for another flash to the forefront of my mind. It’s enticingly wonderful and gratingly frustrating both at the same time. It is also one of the reasons I find myself so torturously slow writing my words clearly and logically… even now.

I used to think this problem of creativity bombardment was something only I experienced. Many writers I’ve spoken look at me blankly when I ask them how they organise their crowded thoughts and jumbled ideas when they all seek attention at the same time.

I know I’m not alone. Surely I can’t be the only one to have creativity embrace and engage me all the time.

Do any of you also suffer from a bombardment of creativity all the time? How do YOU manage your inner creativity and endless ideas?

2 thoughts on “The Battle of One’s Inner Creativity…

  1. I get this all the time! As an aspiring author, I constantly have ideas jumping through my brain, calling for my one-on-one attention. Usually I can only handle a couple that really stand out to me and then I discard the others for later viewing. I just keep files in my brain or write down the ideas right then and there.

Leave a Reply

