Expat Life

Where did you go? Where have you been?

You’ll have noticed my site has been very quiet over the last couple of years. I hadn’t forgotten about this site but became too sick (Don’t worry I’m well again now!) and busy to dedicate any time to it. A lot has changed in that time.
For one, we are no longer in Hong Kong. It was a tough decision but we’ve moved back to the land of Oz. And whilst my life is possibly even busier now it was the right decision for us as a family.

qantasplaneOh – I miss Hong Kong, and it will forever hold a special place in my heart, but OH – how nice it is to be back in a country where I can shop for groceries in one store (mostly), look up at a magnificent blue sky, breath fresh air, see my kids run wild on grass without being told off, and back living in our own home not having to stress about a landlord.
It hasn’t been an easy transition and we’re not quite set up the way we want to be yet. No move is easy. Moving country is hard. As we have learned, moving back to your home country is in many ways even harder again.
The city and friends have moved on so what we thought we knew has changed drastically.
Settling in anywhere, even your old home, takes time.
We’re working on it though and I hope as part of that I’ll be able to find some time to once again write and share my thoughts (and Transformers) here.

Let’s hope it doesn’t take another 2 years!

Leave a comment